School sport


Queen’s Junior
Cricket v Stirling
U10A v Stirling 104 all out, Itha Mbulana 2 for 41, QCJ 80 all out. Queen’s lost by 24 runs. U11A: Stirling 79 all out, Anje Saul 4 for 20, Connor Oelofse 2 for 12; QCJ 81 for 5, Michael Finn 27*. Queen’s won by five wickets. U11B: QCJ 65 for 3, Callum McEwan 13*. Rain stopped play.
U13C: QCJ 45 for 5, Rain stopped play. U13B: Stirling 136 all out. Jayden Lentoor 3 for 31, Ngcali Ngaci 2 for 20. QCJ 103 all out, Phillip van Oosten 28. Queen’s lost by 33 runs.
U13A: QCJ 104 all out, Bradley Giddy 24. Stirling 92 all out, Gabriel de Jongh 3 for 22, Desmond Ayeh 5 for 17. Queen’s won by 12 runs.
Sports awards for 2016: Athletics: The Colin Nel memorial trophy for the best performance of the season, the Chachu Cup to the Victor Ludorum: Caleb von Cullwitz; Garth Batteson cup for the most promising athlete: Mutumbo Kabau; Cross Country: Harriers trophy for the winner of the U11 race: Mutumbo Kabau; Dudley Holmes cross country shield to the winner of the U13 race: Tiamo Mjali; Cricket: achieving five wickets this year: Itha Mbulana 5 for 9 vs Alice, Anje Saul 5 for 13 vs Dale; for achieving half centuries: Duncan Giddy 50 vs Alice, Sean Grant 59 vs Cale, Bryan Muir 54 vs Alice, Taygan Richter 56 vs Dale, Aluve Stemela 54* vs Sada, Jed Stone 59 vs Dale and 57 vs Grey PE, Cole van Schoor 57 vs Alice, Eli van Schoor 51 vs St Andrews; Centuries: Sean Grant 100 vs Alice, Cole van Schoor 110* vs Holy Cross. Colin Hartley prize for most consistent U11 player: Sean Grant; Louis Sports prize for the most improved cricketer: Eli van Schoor; U12 cricketer of the year: Bradley Giddy; Kenny McEwan trophy for best individual performance: Cole van Schoor; Allister Mitchell trophy for best bowling: Bryan Muir; Standard Bank trophy for best 13 fielder: Uthandiwe Gatyeni; Louis Sports prize for the most consistent U13 batsman: Cole van Schoor; cricketer of the year: Bryan Muir and Cole van Schoor. Hockey: sportsmanship in U10: Damian Miles and Luke du Preez; certificate for most improved player: Itha Mbulana; Fincham cup for the U10 player of the year: Daniel Philips; sportsmanship in the U11 age group: Murray Breetzke; most improved U11 hockey player: Aiden Fletcher; U11 player of the year: Stephen Aylesbury and Liam Ruiters; most improved U12 hockey player: Duncan Giddy, Pote cup for U12 player of the year: Bradley Giddy; certificates for sportsmanship and endeavour: Rotino Flusk, Sazi Jwaqa, Eli van Schoor; Most improved senior hockey player: Likhaya Xanywa and Olwethu Rataza, Wormald Cup for senior player of the year: Bryan Muir; Phillips prize for the boy who contributed most to hockey at QCJ: Desmond Ayeh.
Rugby: Queen’s Junior Prize for consistent endeavour: U10: Ryan Gudmanz, Bobakho Qozeleni, U11: Kyle Aylwin; U12: Bradley Giddy; U13: Aluvwe Stemela; Eastes Shield to an U10B for enthusiasm on the field: Yanda Gqaza; Insurance Solutions prize to the most promising U11 player: Taygan Richter; most consistent U11 player: Camagu Mrubata; most promising U12 player: Ryan Bailey; Louwrens trophy and the QCJ prize for the most promising U13 player: Tiamo Mjali; Mike Loest trophy for U13 player who showed perseverance: Caleb von Cullwitz; Michael Diesel trophy for most improved U13 player: Amahle Mafuta.
Swimming: Wayne Goldschmidt trophy for most improved swimmer: Robbie Miles; Andrew Bowren trophy for most outstanding swimmer: Gareth Heuer; Wormald Cup for most promising swimmer: Jed Stone; Ian Thomas floating trophy for Victor Ludorum: Taygan Richter.
Squash: most promising U11 player: Jed Stone and Scott Miles; runner-up in championships: Stephen Aylesbury; Robin Butler trophy winner of championships: Bryan Muir.
Tennis: BK Administrators’ Prize for enthusiasm and perseverance: Solethu Dinga; Munro Cup for most promising player: Bradley Giddy, certificate for most improved player: Luke Miles; Bolotwa Cup for mixed doubles: Phillip van Oosten; Jacobsen Cup for top U10 player: Scott Miles; Thomas Prize for runners-up in doubles: Solethu Dunga, Stephen Aylesbury; Richardson Cup and prize for doubles championships: Bradley Giddy and Phillip van Oosten; runner-up in singles: Gabriel de Jongh; winner of singles: Bradley Giddy.
Karate: to represent SA: Onika Matiti, Viwe Mtolo, Vishe Sharma. Tentpegging: Included in EC team: DC McGregor; Emmsies trophy for extraordinary sports codes: Viwe Mtolo, Bryan Muir.
Queen’s College
Cricket vs Hudson Park: 1st XI (home): QC 234/5: Keith Kroutz 68, Ilano Smith 56, Nathan Roux 54. Hudson: 235/2. QC lost by eight wickets. 2nd XI (home): QC lost by 176 runs. 15A XI (away): rained out. 15B XI (home): Hudson 87 all out, QC 91/4. QC won by six wickets. 14A and U14B: rained out.
Laerskool Hangklip
Eleven athletes took part in the Jim Fouche Makro Invitational meeting. and two performed very well. Justin Muller achieved a second place in discus boys U14 and Marnel Ferreira a fourth in girls U14 200m.
Swimming: 15 swimmers participated in the Amatola Inland trials in Stutterheim with Handri Botha (U13), Tarien Wentzel (U12), JC Potgieter (U11) and Owen van Greunen (U8) making the team.

Leave a Reply