Hundreds tackle Bonkolo marathon




BRILLIANT: Natasha White of Twizza congratulates winner of the men’s marathon, Luthando Hejana Pictures: PIXEL PERFECT PHOTOGRAPHY
BRILLIANT: Natasha White of Twizza congratulates winner of the men’s marathon, Luthando Hejana Pictures: PIXEL PERFECT PHOTOGRAPHY

MORE than 600 athletes took off in slightly cool weather for yet another successful Twizza Bonkolo Marathon over the weekend.
The event was hosted for the 40th time with the main sponsor, Twizza, once again committing to ensure a smooth event.

A total of 419 finishers completed the 21.1km event, and 176 finishers completed the 42.2km event.

The winner of the 42.2km event – for the third consecutive year – was Luthando Hejana in a time of 2hr 37min 59sec with Xoliswa Bici in a time of 3:21:29 was the women’s winner. The 21.1km event was won by Sakhumuzi Matiso in a time of 1:11:09 and Emma Fourie in a time of 1:40:29 was the ladies winner.

First Harrier home on the 42.2km event was Zakuthini Retyu in a time of 3hr 15min followed by Monde Mahlaba 3:33, Luyanda Ndzandza 3:42, Bonita Kruger 4:02, Liezl Heideman 4:04, Jaco Annandale and Bridget Smith 4:05, Henk Lombard 4:09, Riaan Koen 4:18, Marlene de Wet 4:30 and Neville Warmberg 4:38.

First Harrier home on the 21.1km event was Hendrik Erasmus in a time of 1:27, followed by Gervais Ally 1:36, James Lucas 1.39, Chante Moody, Lyle Moody and Sarah-Jane Forgan 1:49, Malungisa Nomva 1:51, Natasja Oudshoorn and Mangaliso Nqezo 1:52, Louis Sinclair 2:04, Marlu Vlok 2:06, Clinton Rossouw and Johanna Ferreira 2:07, Hettie van der Merwe and Siyasanga Gqamane 2:08, Elisma Olivier and Butch Kriel 2:09, Mary-Anne Venter and Niki Bolze 2:10, Lizel Casey 2:11, Jackie Hall 2:13, Joey Wassung and Theo Ferreira 2:14, Joseph Stander and Solette Lombard 2:18, Alet Malan 2:19, Thea van Eeden and ElsabeJonker 2:21, Nadine Stander, Francoise Rheeders and Annerie Marais 2:22, Senovia de Bruin 2:23, Gayle Stiles and Andrew Dickason 2:25, Joey Bester 2:26, Maryka Snyman 2:27, Janneke du Preez and Herman Marais 2:28, Tyler Schloesser and Cornelia Jacobson 2:29, Claudine Maytham and Janice McKerry 2:31, Lana van Zyl 2:35, Dave Moody 2:37, Jessica Hayes 2:45, Anica Maritz 2:47, Annette Olivier 2:50, Lisa Oelofse 3:01, Carmen Fourie 3:13, Smartryk Rossouw 3:14, Marguerite Moorcroft, Bridget King, Lauren du Preez and Vernon Putzier 3:48.

Queenstown Harriers medal winners for various categories, were Lyle Moody (bronze) male open, Chante Moody (gold) female open, NatasjaOudshoorn (silver) female open, James Lucas (silver) male 35-39, Lizel Casey (bronze) female 35-39, Hendrik Erasmus (gold) male 50-59, Mangaliso Nqezo (bronze) male 50-59, Niki Bolze (gold) female 50-59, ElsabeJonker (silver) female 50-59, Nadine Stander (bronze) female 50-59, Malungisa Nomwa (gold) male 60-69, Johanna Ferreira (gold) female 60-69, Hettie van der Merwe (silver) female 60-69.

Leave a Reply